Freedom!

Today,  the 5th of May, the Dutch celebrate liberation day. I am forever grateful to the American, Canadian,  Polish,  Belgian,  French and Norwegian soldiers who liberated our country. We don't just celebrate the fact that we were liberated on the 5th of May. The date has become a symbol for freedom. We celebrate freedom,  the fact we are free from oppression,  we have freedom of speech,  we can choose our own destiny and life path,  religion,  partner,  way of life.  I value this very much and not only one day a year. I am very much aware I've had the luck to have been born and raised and living in freedom all my life.

So the flags in the streets are raised again for celebration. To add a bit to the blip I made some photos of the tulips I bought last Sunday,  when I enjoyed a walk in freedom in the flower fields. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.