Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

It's an umbrella day...

... so I quickly scooted around town getting the bits and pieces I needed and snapping these folk outside Boots then home to put my new lamp together. 
I've long wanted one of these tripod floor lamps; all shiny chrome and black just like the photography studios. When I moved into this minimalist flat I just knew the time was right to get one and as luck would have it a friend liked the Facebook page of made.com. which had exactly what I wanted at a very reasonable price.
Well it arrived a couple of days ago; in two boxes. When I opened the first one it had the instructions at the top and it looked horrendously complicated. But it wasn't that which put me off making a start there and then, it was the fact that it was packed in polystyrene and if broken bits get everywhere and are really tricky to hoover up from a shiny wooden floor (I'm not a natural hoover user I'm afraid). But this morning I took the plunge and opened the boxes and there was very little assembly to do. Simply put the braces on the bottom of the tripod legs and insert the lamp and tighten the wing nut. I worked out how to do it but couldn't get the centre of the brace apart to insert the legs so went shopping thinking I was going to have to take it to get a man to do it. That annoyed me so when I came back I tried using the little plastic mats used to put hot pans on to give me the grip I needed to turn the screw. Job done! No man required!
And it looks amazing. I feel like a proper tog now. I would have blipped it but the proper tog in me liked the dark umbrella scene I have blipped but I dare say there will be other days when I want an easily accessible subject so watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.