Third_eye

By Third_eye

Yes, but why me?

I have always believed, as did the late great Tom Lehrer, that "Life is like a dustbin*: what you get out of it depends on what you put into it", but it seems I have been blest (sic), or perhaps just put to the test, by unwanted wall-to-wall music - a hymn recital to be precise - playing in my head 24/7 for the last couple of weeks, sufficiently audible to stifle active thought, but too muffled to interpret clearly.

Careful detective work, comparing metre and verse pattern with numerous sound clips on the Internet, found a perfect match in a recording of the choir of St Paul's Cathedral at the Queen's 90th birthday celebrations, but as I am not a church-goer, neither watched nor heard that broadcast, and do not play music at home, how did it get into my head? After repeatedly asking neighbours "can you hear it too?" which seemed to be taken as evidence that I was living in the land of the fairies, I sought the help of my doctor and am now awaiting a follow-up hospital appointment to have these demons (or nice cathedral choristers) excised from my brain.

Some people are never satisfied, are they? Why should I complain about free music, which others would gladly pay to hear? Life on Earth is organic, sometimes manic, and I am becoming increasingly disposed to break the Sixth Commandment to rid me of this turbulent organist and choir. I am not a willing member of their Union but as is evident with Brexit, escape is proving difficult and the Devil is in the detail.  I am sure that any readers who may have survived thus far will also now be feeling that enough is enough, so although I find writing cathartic at times when life is particularly chaotic, I must end my epistle at this point and return to the daily grind, hoping that the organ grinder will eventually tire of his pranks, aided by a new Tablet which I trust will be prescribed for me by our over-stretched NHS very soon.

Thank you, dear friends, for your subliminally audible cries of dismay, be they for my plight, or yours for having been subjected to it.

*  CORRECTION:  For 'dustbin', read 'sewer'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.