Beewriter

By Beewriter

Fork Off.....

....the shoulder look. 

I know, 'tis a sight you can never recover from, I apologise....but it is World Naked Gardening Day and it would have been rude not to enter in the spirit!

I am going to get the jungle that is my garden sorted this year, it is my big project. I was given a few gardening gifts for my birthday....a pair of gloves, a fork, a trowel, twinkly solar lights and a strawberry plant....I had the props, but I couldn't use my own garden. Firstly, it is overgrown and secondly it is overlooked. 

Fortunately, I have a lovely neighbour, Jennifer, who has a beautiful garden. I nipped round to see if I could use it and had my fingers crossed that she was going out....I could. She was.

So, camera, tripod and dressing gown in hand I went round when I heard she had gone out. Jennifer's garden is next to an old railway line that is now a walkway, it is high above the line, so anyone on it can't possibly see into the garden. But across the other side is a pathway that runs parallel to her garden. I just had to keep an eye on that path as my dressing gown was off and on and off and on. 

I have to say it was weirdly liberating, but I won't make a habit of it, I promise.

I had booked to go to what was described as an 'Afternoon Tea with Joanne Harris'...author of Chocolat.....in Southport this afternoon. Hmmmmm, it wasn't quite as advertised and was a big disappointment. Jude and I arrived a few minutes after it had started so we had to creep in. She was reading short tales, which were good....I like her writing style....but then she sang a song that retold the story she had just read. Her band was with her and she also played the flute. Joanne Harris is a good writer, she is a good storyteller and I'll admit that she is a good flautist, but she isn't the best singer and the songs were like a school production. We were sorely disappointed, so we left....although, we did nip into the cafe to claim our afternoon tea first.

We went on to Mary's. She had cooked a meal for us and, oh my, it was delicious. Mary had also made me a birthday cake....I can highly recommend having your birthday last all week! 

One day left.......what shall I do tomorrow........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.