Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Just look at my tuft!

Couldn't resist this tufted duck showing off its tuft and its iridescent head feathers. I met up with T at Blackford Pond  where there were the pair of adult swans who I met on Wednesday and also the very large cygnet, but no lone female. I was glad of that - she had looked depressed on Wednesday. I hope she has found somewhere to be for a while and maybe find a new mate. We also saw that there was a pair of moorhens building a nest in a tree on the island. They did that last year but produced no young, so I hope they will do better this year. No sign of any coots, but there were quite a number of male mallards and lots of herring gulls and black-headed gulls and of course there were the tufted ducks - just a few of them.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.