Arachne

By Arachne

Family drama

This morning I went to what used to be the Commonwealth Institute – an innovative building (in 1962) with what I remember as rather dreary exhibitions about commonwealth countries – now converted dramatically into London’s Design Museum. I didn’t recognise it at all although the roof of the old structure remains (extra 2). I was very taken with the lighting behind and below a very long wooden bench (here and extra 1).
 
Then to the National Theatre for Consent, a complex play about rape, whether the law can provide justice, couples and the disconnect between a legalistic view of the world and empathy. Superbly acted in the round with a simple but clever set. I'm still thinking about it
 
Afterwards the ever-vibrant Undercroft (extra 3), thankfully saved from being turned into a shopping centre after a public outcry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.