Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

The printer's workshop

I walked down Allen Banks and Staward gorge this morning. It was a bit cool and dull but still an interesting walk. Unfortunately some of the path was inaccessible as the banks had been washed away last year in flooding. In the afternoon I visited the birthplace of Thomas Bewick who I had not heard of before. Bewick was an engraver and artist best known for his History of British Birds, which is admired today mainly for its wood engravings, especially the small, sharply observed, and often humorous vignettes known as tail-pieces. The book was the forerunner of all modern field guides. He notably illustrated editions of Aesop's Fables throughout his life. The reconstruction of the print workshop was fascinating and the demonstration produced prints which were distributed to those watching. I think I shall get my cormorant framed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.