One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

A full Irish, to rescue France

Now I can just about stomach the second round of the French elections. Let's go and stop that mad, dangerous woman. 


A lovely breakfast it was too, after a great night in the Royal Marine. In a giant bed. I was able to sleep in my favourite position (the starfish) without disturbing Mrs Raheny. 

We'd had a fine big meal in Le Bon Crubeen (I had to tell Mrs Raheny what the Irish word crubeen stands for...) Great food, great service, great atmosphere. 
Then we got a Dart back into Dun Laoghaire (I splashed out on 1st class tickets), and our grand big room in the Royal Marine was waiting for us. With a view. The grand big room. On the library! My favourite library in the world. With Dublin Bay right behind. All hunky dory. 

And we never even switched the telly on. Oh no. It was a weekend away (2.3 miles away from home) with no connectivity whatsoever. 
Ok, there was a bit of connectivity... I brought my favourite gadget of the moment: my Onkyo bluetooth sound bar. Coupled with Spotify, it is the equivalent of bringing your whole CD collection with you for that romantic weekend away (all 2.3 miles of it). It would have been a little bit heavy to carry all my Frank Zappa collection, and Magma (Mekanïk Destruktïẁ Kommandöh)  , and Motorhead (Rock 'n' Roll), and Richard Gotain (le Youki), and Body Count (Talk Shit, Get Shot) and the Ramones anthology. Isn't technology fantastic? 

After the full Irish (breakfast), there was a lovely swim in the pool (18 m, just big enough to show off, not big enough to puke my full Irish), and a funny old sweating session in the sauna, trying to talk Mrs Raheny off her panic attack ("no Chica, doors that closed with a magnet cannot get jammed and we will not die from heat and dehydration")

And then it was time to head back home, and cook the Sunday roast as a thank you to Pepe and his sterling babysitting services. In the sunshine! A fine, sunny, warm day it was. 

And then I went off to vote for the one I don't like to stop the one I loathe. 
For the second time in 14 days. 

Extras: 
- a room with a view
- "I see your chocolate and mint mousse and I raise you one orange and ginger panna cotta"
- a lot of Le Pen voting slips in the bin in the voting booth in the French embassy, where they belong 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.