... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Ring-necked Parakeet

Psittacula krameri.
Definitely better in large!

These beautiful, exotic parakeets are London's 13th most common bird; they're Britain's only naturalised parrots, and do look very out of place... The subspecies that we have over here (P. krameri manillensis) is originally from south Asia (esp. India; they're often referred to as Indian Ring-necked Parakeets). They move in a very distinctive way: they fly very purposefully, bank in sweeping curves, and descend with deep swoops. They also make a very distinctive sound: they squawk, and it is both loud and shrill, and creates a surprisingly incongruous jungle atmosphere if you shut your eyes.
The first time I noticed them (3 flew into the tree at the bottom of our garden about a decade ago) I assumed that they'd escaped from a zoo or someone's aviary; it was only when I looked them up that I began to appreciate how common they are, and that they are very established in the south-east. Now that I'm more interested in birds, I see them a lot, particularly by the large pond on Wandsworth Common.

I found it very difficult to choose my blip today: there were two other contenders, but the subject in this one was furthest away, so most benefits from being enlarged.
I've uploaded a magpie in all its iridescent glory (it was coming in to land...), and a gosling flapping its developing wings whilst bouncing! The "flappy-dance" phase is one of the cutest parts of their development...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.