The last few days have been an enjoyable time meeting most of the family and celebrating.
As we would be unable to celebrate little C’s first birthday next weekend we were invited to his paternal grandfather’s birthday lunch where we were joined by C and his family and so were able to give them both birthday gifts. Then yesterday we celebrated my brother’s 60th birthday with friends of his.
It was sad though that my father for the third year running was unaware of his dear wife’s birthday.   Nor was it a good birthday for her as she was in bed and unwell. With a great deal of help today my sister and I were able to take my mother to see my father who was delighted to see her but being unable to realise the state of her health, is wondering how he can make her better.   He is remembering the time when he was her carer before the roles were reversed and she assumed responsibility for him. The happy events of the last few days are tinged with sadness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.