What's outside my window? The Borneo jungle

Today I went to stay in the jungle. It’s a homestay run by an Indigenous woman from the Bidayuh community and her Norwegian husband. Lars picked me up in Kuching and drove to the village closest to the homestay. On the way we stopped at a market in a small town to pick up a few supplies. The produce on display included things, mostly vegetables, that you can only get in the jungle and which are brought into town by the mountain people.

The homestay is reached by boat. It’s about a 20 minute ride upstream past nothing but nature. There were some macaques high in one of the trees. When I arrived, I met Liza and their two small children. After a delicious lunch I went for a look around the area closest to the house. They grow their own coffee, pepper, and fruit, including pineapples.


To join in the ‘what’s outside my window’ challenge, here’s the view from my room at the homestay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.