The Brathay

A teensy little first for me today. I took advantage of the extremely low water levels and headed onto a river, moving water, for the first time on my own. Probably actually less dangerous than the lake, but psychologically a good step forward for my paddling.
The Brathay is a stunningly beautiful stretch of water, with just enough tree cover and flow to make you forget the road and to let the wildlife feel safe. I launched from just above the church and only had to hop out and carry for a couple of shallow sections where I bottomed out - but managed to paddle 95% down to the Lake in good water.
I'd discussed ideas with B this morning - and was drawn back to the Brathay as last time I was here I saw a Kingfisher - so now I'm 2 for 2!, too quick for blip but wonderful to see.
I spent a while wedged on a rock watching the wildlife go by - herons, dippers, mallards and mergansers - but my favourite were the acrobatic Grey Wagtails. That the four pics in the collage in extras* aren't my blip is, I think, the best indication of how good my day was. Eventually I worked out the pattern of Mum & Dad's aerial feeding frenzy, an tiptoed gently up to a hole at face height in the bridge foundations - where I found these adorable little guys. I grabbed a blip and let them be.

*Mum and Dad with beaks full of tasty insects and the view from where I launched.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.