Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Once A Week 2017 ~ #15 ~ 11:41 AM

An absolutely perfect day - after a rather cold night. Some places had a frost, but we escaped it here. The tomato plants that I stuck in the ground before I left for West Virginia seem to be fine! Phew.

The Husband has gone of to Mexico. He likes a place called Isla Mujeres and visits regularly. I've been several times, but I'd rather do my birding things. Plus we're both happier if the dogs have one of us here, so separate vacations are the thing. I love being home alone... Anyhow - the drive over to the airport - mercifully only 20 minutes from our house! - was amazing this morning. We were on the road at about 5:30 and because it was so cold there was mist rising from the ponds; and a slightly pink glow on the horizon; and Venus bright in the dark blue eastern sky. At one point we suddenly saw fire on the horizon and after a momentary moment of wondering what in the world that was, I realized it was a vineyard and they were trying to keep the vines warm. I couldn't/didn't stop on the way to the airport to take a photo, but I did grab a quick iPhone shot on the way home. It's the extra. Not quite as effective a shot as it would have been when it was darker, or if I had wanted to get out of the car (the dogs were both with me) to walk a bit closer. But still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.