Bob

He's been part of my life forever and tonight we were in the same room even though he didn't acknowledge anyone and he was too far away for me to see him properly; it might equally have been someone else. But it was Bob's voice without a doubt even though there was no Bob harmonica or guitar; he played some piano and left the rest of the instruments to others.

I must be a bit too old because I've read rave reviews of him "re-imagining" some of his old classics but I think there was only one which anyone might recognise from the melody. Others were similar to the "I'm sorry I haven't a clue" game - "One song to the tune of another". And why a bloke "with a voice like sand and glue" (Bowie, 1971) but an incredible back catalogue of songs should be taking on Sinatra classics is beyond me but it's his business rather than mine.

It was fun but bewildering and there were folk around us wandering off for more beers, plenty taking photographs and even a few recording some songs. The music was great despite Bob and the evening was worth it for the second encore alone - "Ballad of a Thin Man" delivered with real menace and a great deal of audience participation.

I never thought I'd get to see the great Bob Dylan but I'm really pleased I have and in splendid company too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.