Hampsfella

By KenPetch

Female Banded Demoiselle

What a glorious day;  I spent the morning at the Tameside Local Nature Reserve.  There are two families of Canada Geese with young gosling and no doubt plenty more to come.  The house martins are collecting mud from the bank of the lake and the reed buntings are singing in the reed beds.  By the bank of the river the demoiselles were flying in and out of the undergrowth and I would guess they were egg laying.  The picture shows a female with her emerald and gold colours.  The males are dark blue with black flashes on the wings.  In the past I have found the demoiselles to be timid and very flighty making them a tough subject to photograph.  This morning they could not have been more different.  They let me get right up to them with the macro lens and even to rearrange the grass stems they they were sitting on.  One even perched on my hand and let me photograph it there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.