Red

After complaining yesterday that I find it difficult to get friends to agree to being photographed, along comes B, a friend I used to work with.  We had a bit of a mix up before we managed to meet at lunchtime, during which time I managed to get myself attacked by a seagull, but we got to the cafe in the end and I am still in one piece.
I was thinking about Henri Cartier Bresson, one of my favourite photographers, and his street photography.  It's clear that in some of his photographs the subjects knew he was there, but in others people have been photographed unawares.  I assuming therefore he did not always ask permission before he took his photographs of people, but as a result of his work we have an extraordinary record of how life was lived in the second part of the twentieth century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.