Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Airlander

I had the usual slurry of emergency Blip photos ready; a few birds, a macro of a plant, and a horse's backside. Then late afternoon I saw on Facebook that there was a strong rumour that the Airlander was going to make it's first flight since last August when it was damaged in a heavy landing. I had a drive over to Cardington and clearly wasn't the only person who had heard the rumour. Sure enough, at about 5.30 it took off.

I got quite a lot of reasonable photos and was changing my lens to try and get a shot of the underside if it came overhead when a young chap next to me offered to lend me his absolutely massive lens, which he said would fit my camera. So I managed to get this really close shot as it was passing over, which shows the outline of the inflatable 'legs' that have been added to prevent damage to the cockpit should it have another hard landing. They remain flat until landing is imminent when they are inflated to protect the cab.

I had plenty of shots to choose from but have added one extra which shows the Airlander in flight. Good to see it back in the air again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.