What's Outside My Window

Today's the day ........................ to join in

I have to say I have never felt the need to join in any of the challenges that are set on blip from time to time.  I'm just quite happy doing my own thing.  But I did like the sound of the 'What's Outside My Window' one recently - and as it finishes tomorrow, I thought I'd give it a go.  This is what I can see outside my greenhouse window.

The thing is though, we had lived here for several years before we knew that this greenhouse existed at all.  When we bought the house, it was just a dark space at the back of the garage where the big oil storage tank for the central heating was.   It was only when we changed over to gas central heating and got rid of the big tank that we saw that this part of the garage was lined with plywood boards. We tentatively prised off one of the boards and to our amazement found all these Rennie Mackintosh-like small square panes of glass behind. And it was the same with the roof - the original glass was still there but all hidden by plywood.

It turned out that these were the greenhouses of the original big Victorian house, in whose garden our house had been built in the late 1930s. They must have been quite a sight in their heyday too, with big glass shutters opened by pulleys and heated by some sort of a stove. 

And - and as my greenhouse is one of my favourite places to be, it's always going to be a happy view of the world.....................
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.