Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The Wedding Photographer

Here I am 7 hours into the 12 hour shoot complete with rusty knees and the feeling that I was boiling away in my own body with the heat and humidity.

From the outside, I'm not sure it's too well known that photography, especially an extended day's shoot, is not only a mental challenge as your mind races through its databank of technical expertise to ensure you nail the exposure in a given scenario approximated, its eye to assess the composition and its knowledge of the beauty of the human form to direct the pose, but it's also an immensely physical challenge beyond the necessity to carry pounds of gear. You're running your own triathlon of light, scene and directing and for me, that means my mind doesn't rest. It's the contradiction that actually my mind doesn't run in a chronological manner when completing a task and is constantly interrupted by creative thoughts in an opposing direction as to make me seem flitty or unfocused. And yet in photography, I am utterly driven, my mind not resting for a moment when actively shooting, nor indeed when taking 5 because there's a certain button I've never been able to turn off, the one that consistently studies light and form, spatial relationships which govern composition. And I'm sure rather unnervingly, I can't help but find how the light falls in your eyes when I'm talking to you. Add to this that you'd better have some good interpersonal skills.

Suffice to say, I'm highly amused that anything could have come of these images even with JoJo at the helm, having Jojo shoot me alongside my favourite flowers and colour and taking the images which defy how utterly cooked but happy we both were feeling. But I guess adrenelin has its own appeal.

And as you can see, I really pull out all the stops to dress up for work. Sweat pants and top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.