Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The moon at 6am

I woke up a o'dark thirty and could not go back to sleep..which is okay as I love mornings.   When I went to the kitchen to turn on the coffeepot, I saw the moon at the end of my driveway.  Out the door I went in the jammies (the dog thought she was going on a walk!).  I had put the 70-300mm lens on the camera but did not take the time to get the tripod.  I knew the photos would not be great but the moon was sitting right on the top of the trees.    The first photo was at ISO 6400..I had the camera set on auto ISO.   So then I had to play around with the settings..not a good thing when the brain has not had its wake up coffee.  

But when I looked at the photos..the overexposed photo looked liked the sun coming up or going down but it was the moon.   So I made this diptych to show that sometimes what we see in a photo is not the real thing.    

Tonight I am going to put the camera on the tripod and have it ready for tomorrow morning..just in case I get up at o'dark thirty.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.