The second half of life..

By twigs

White sandy toes....

I am clearly in holiday mode now! I only realised today was Saturday when I looked at today's entry date!

Had a very early rise this morning - 5.45! - and was on the road heading to Cape Reinga by 8.00am. That turned out to be a top move as, by the time I'd done the touristy bit and was heading back (you have no option but to head back along the road you drove in on unless you want to drive 60-odd kms back along the beach! Not a good idea with a Honda Civic!) the tour buses were just beginning to arrive........heaps of them!

On the return I stopped off at a beautiful, wild, white sand beach on the Pacific Coast side and took a long walk. The sun was streaming and I think I may have caught one or two too many uv rays :( Anyway, it really was quite beautiful.

I've been looking forward for ages to getting to Mongonui, where I was hoping to stay tonight. Obviously my memory isn't all it used to be - either that or the developers have taken over! - but the camp ground I thought was here wasn't so I've driven 10kms further on to a wee place called Hihi (pronounced Hee-hee!!!) I was told that this spot was great for sunsets so I set myself up for tonight's and snapped away happily as the sun descended on another beautiful spot to rest and reflect on another lovely day.

In the end though, I preferrred the look of the white sand over the sunset.....

Overspill pics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.