Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pool

As I mentioned on Saturday I'm more or less resigned to failing my football pyramid challenge, mainly because I didn't get my act together regarding an NPL First Division North match (Level 8) and that league is now finished for the year.  That still left Levels 11 and 12 to go though and thanks to winter postponements and longer summer evenings there are still a few mid week fixtures in the local West Yorkshire League to help fill those gaps.

So straight from work I hopped on the Harrogate bus to catch the 6.30 kick-off at Pool in Wharfedale, where Pool AFC were hosting Knaresborough Town reserves in the West Yorkshire Association Football League Premier Division (Level 11). Compared to Level 10, where you are likely to encounter turnstiles, a modest admission fee and the opportunity to buy a programme, Levels 11-13 are proper grassroots occasions - played in parks and recreation grounds, albeit still with officials and serious intent.  Pool's ground is in an attractive spot (extras) next to the Wharfe, and there was just a boundary rail to seperate the football pitch from a junior cricket match that was happening next door.

I arrived 10 minutes late, so missed the first goal, scored by Knaresborough, but Pool had the better of the play in the rest of the first half and deservedly equalised. Another goal apiece in the second half gave a 2-2 final score.

Given that I had quite a wait for the first leg of the bus journey home, I wandered down to Pool Bridge and took the footpath along the river. The sun had gone down, but there was still some colour in the sky, and under the bridge I found this pleasing silhouette to help frame it. And then the bats and the moon came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.