Phone Box in Swaffham

I drove up to Bircham Newton near Kings Lynn today to get ready for our construction students who arrive on Sunday for Constructionarium. I was expecting the sat nav to take me via Kings Lynn. But no! We came via Swaffham. I am not convinced that it was any quicker but it was certainly more picturesque and I really enjoyed the drive. I stopped in Swaffham for 20 minutes or so. Partly because I needed to stretch my legs and partly because there was a free parking space! It's a pretty little town albeit with lots of charity shops (not really a good sign). I looked it up. Apparently Swaffham comes from  the Old English Swǣfa hām = "the homestead of the Swabians". I had to look that up too!. Swabia is part of SW Germany. I am not clear how they ended up in deepest Norfolk!


Swaffham also (amongst many other features) has this old telephone box. I can't recall when I last saw one. And this one looked as though it still had a working phone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.