It's All About...Being a Scout

I had a job to do today. Two friends and I want to walk in a nature preserve tomorrow. But, somebody had to go scout the area...mostly to see if it was too muddy to traipse through. I volunteered, and I took my job seriously.

The preserve has two separate loops. One loop is dry, and one loop is VERY wet. (My shoes paid the price as I hiked through.)

But, like I said...I took my job seriously.

Just in case we get disoriented...and have to spend the night in the woods...I noticed the water was very murky, so I'll be lugging in my water purifier. Also, since I don't know if these mushrooms are edible...I'll only let the other two guys eat them. I'll be lugging in my camp stove, and some dehydrated spaghetti for myself. Finally, in case we need fresh meat...I did see 4 deer...so I'll be lugging in my Red Ryder bb gun.

Disclaimer: Believe what you may, but I did log about 4 miles to get us a route.

Call me Kit Carson. Call me Jim Bridger. Call me Old Bill Williams.

Tomorrow when we go about and out...
we'll be glad I did my job as a scout.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.