kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Too hot for me !

And I'm not referring to the weather today. Here in Seattle, our extended "dry spell" officially ended early Monday morning (9/10/12) with a very brief period of recorded rain at the airport. We made it 48 days, and now are in 2nd place for the longest record ever, of 51 days set back in 1951.

This bottle of Melinda's Naga Jolokia Hot Sauce was a recent discount find at the grocery store.

I must admit that I was not really sure what I was buying at the time, but the price seemed right. I DO like hot stuff to a point, but...

After a little Google research, come to find out that this sauce is in excess of ONE MILLION units on the Scoville heat scale, and these sauces can get a LOT hotter! Tabasco sauce on the low end of the scale, checks in at about 700 - 3000 units on the Scoville scale, depending on the variety.

And just as an FYI, there are sauces out there that FAR exceed ONE MILLION Scoville units!

For an interesting look at the Scoville values of various chili peppers, have a look at this link.

Bon Appétit :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.