Palm oil plantation

A long day on a bus. The landscape was very green – some natural forest, and lots of palm oil plantations. The road passed a few small towns and villages. The bus also passed a horrific looking truck crash. I read in the local news the following day that two people died.

When I arrived in Sibu the owner of the place I was staying picked me up at the bus station. It turned out that the homestay wasn’t actually in their home. It was a house where only guests stayed and she dropped me there and left. Still, it was nice to have the space and facilities that went with a house.


This is a bad phone shot of one of the palm oil plantations taken from the bus as we went past. Once this would have been natural forest but now monoculture has taken over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.