YPU Success

That was an interesting day!

Today was the opening of the annual exhibition for the Yorkshire Photographic Union.  This is a showing of 200 prints and 200 digital images, and this year it is displayed at Huddersfield Art Gallery until 2nd September.

Each Yorkshire Photography Club submits images from its members - up to ten each print and digital.  These are then scored by a panel of three judges and then the best images are selected for the exhibition.  Last year, I got one digital image accepted, and I was hoping to get a print in this year.  I did a bit better than that.

I had six prints accepted, two of which got certificates and one of which won a prize for the Best Colour Open Print.  In digital, I got three accepted, one of which got a certificate and one of which won a prize for Best Open Image. Sharon got one digital image accepted, and also had one of her prints in reserve.

This reserve print will be placed on the wall in a couple of weeks time, when a selection of the prints are removed to enter in an inter-federation competition where they will represent Yorkshire.  Four of my prints will be included in this competition.

This afternoon was the formal opening of the exhibition and presentation of the prizes, and this year it was held in Huddersfield Town Hall.  I've played in this hall many times with brass bands, but this is the first time I've been up on stage for something non-musical.  I went up three times - twice to collect my trophies, and a final time to collect my certificates.

There are also prizes for the best overall club, and the best club in digital images and prints.  I was pleased that our club (Ilkley Camera Club) were awarded the prize for best print entry, and best overall entry.  We came third in the PDI category.  Sharon went up on stage to collect these prizes.

I'm slightly surprised I did so well - but what a difference a year with a camera club has made.  This year I was almost in the running for best overall entry, but didn't quite have enough in the end, being pipped by someone with a whole alphabet of letters after her name.

All I have to do now is keep up the good work and try and do as well next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.