Live/Love/Smile

By Shonie

DKA - not to be tried and tested!

Well my Sunday evening turned into quite the event. Having felt under the weather the last couple of weeks I have been putting it down to work and anticipation of uni stress... I have had frequent sick spells but again shrugged it off to over eating, under eating or just feeling abit rubbish.
On Sunday at work I managed to get home at 5pm instead of 8pm but came home and continued to feel Ill. I started to throw up as soon as I got in and this then continues until half 8 where I could no longer keep water down. I phones NHS 24 and went to an out of hours clinic. They checked my blood sugar which was high and then my ketones. Normal diabetics are meant to have a ketone count of zero. Anything above 0.01 is bad. Well mine came in at 5. I was then carted off to hospital where they told I had DKA - diabetic ketoacidosis. Explained much better by google but basically my body had started making acid and attacking the fat cells which makes your body shut down.
I had no idea I was this sick and trust me it was a wake up call.
I spent the night with three drips in, a heart monitor, and ECG machine and getting my blood taken every 2-3 hours. I am terrible at giving blood samples- makes me pass out. But 8 blood tests later I hasn't passed out - so I gave myself a mini high five. I was let out late last night but am under strict instructions to rest and be looked after and keep a strict eye on bloods and ketones...
So fingers crossed, I think I had a very lucky escape. Very very lucky.

S

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.