Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Anniversary clock

There were only five of us on the bells this morning so they did not sound as good although i doubt people outside noticed.  The bells are mostly appreciated but very occasionally someone complains and has to be gently reminded that the church and bells were there several hundred years before their house was built.  The proximity of a bell tower should always be taken into consideration when buying a house.  We do have louvres to reduce the sound which I don't like as I used to be able to hear the bells from inside my house a couple of hundred metres away.  They used to remind me when they started ringing that it was time to leave the house and go up the tower.
In the afternoon, I worked on two clocks including this rather nice torsion pendulum clock circa 1920.  It is going at the moment but I don't expect to be out of the woods with it as they are notoriously difficult to set up and most repairers won't touch them or cuckoo clocks with a barge pole. I did get time to do some more planting in the garden and now it is time for tea with the grandchildren.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.