BellesMa

By BellesMa

The Creel Loaders

The Creel Loaders is a statue in Dunbar, near the harbour, that honours the creel women who used to carry creels on their backs from the harbour here, all the way to Lauder, which is a pretty remarkable feat as it is a journey of about 25 miles.
Read more here:
http://www.heritagepaths.co.uk/pathdetails.php?path=1
http://www.dunbarharbourtrust.co.uk/index.php/blog/35-creel-loaders?hitcount=0

My mum, sister, daughter and I went for a walk from Dunbar to Belhaven and back, taking in the John Muir museum, harbour, coastal path and then making it as far as the bridge to nowhere at Belhaven before returning via the Lauderdale Park for a play. I took several photos on the way and was on the lookout for textures as I went (see extras).
I loved the texture of the Creel Loaders statue, as there are so many different types of carved patterns on it. The last extra shows more of the textures in greater detail. It also reminds me of the Sphinx at Giza from this angle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.