Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Caught in Early Light

Yesterday, I'd noticed a number of broad leaved trees on Cannock Chase, exhibiting that lime green colour of new leaf growth, in amongst the tall pine trunks of the plantations.  I didn't have time to do anything about them at the time, but when the early cloud had receded this morning I headed back in the hope of getting some images.

Imagine my frustration as I drove back along the appropriately named Chase Road, unable to spot the trees that had stood out so much yesterday.  Of course, this was down to the light at a different time of day, but I still felt somewhat foolish not have taken more attention to their exact location.

Still it was a glorious morning to be walking out so I grabbed the camera and started out into the plantations.  This birch is in sunlight because it lies on the edge of a track , that was aligned with the rising sun.  I used many of the tricks to try and isolate the tree further from its surrounds, using a shallow depth of field and grad filters to highlight the difference in light in what was a pretty dark wooded area.

Many thanks for the reaction to yesterday's image of the swallow.  I will continue to make efforts to capture these acrobatic little birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.