Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Flag out over Athens

Early morning 06.15 hrs the bus dropped me & others off in Athens' city centre after a nightride from Saloniki up here. That hour was far to early to call at my SIL so I walked up to her via via and via Lykavitos hill where the church keeper swept the platform and kept me company with a chat ~  he lives there high up on the hill of Lykavitos as the chapel is his workplace and he told me he seldom goes down into Athens town! I asked him to make me a coffee from his kitchen/little home and payed him extra for his kindness and generosity as at 07.30 the taverna at Lykavitos was still closed  

While sipping my coffee these 2 military conscripts came along to hoist the Greek flag over Athens! I was allowed to picture them and at sundown they' ll come again up Lykavito hill to lower the flag. 

Busy day ahead again as I will move on from SIL to another friend in town; must rush now actually ~ more blips in extra

backblips over the past few days 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.