Lembert Dome

Lembert Dome, seen from the North Fork of the Tuolomne River, Yosemite National Park. Our campsite is close enough to the river to be able to hear the water rushing by at night. This part of the park is six or seven hours from home, a drive that takes us from the ocean, across the hot flat Central Valley, and up into the Sierra peaks to Tuolomne Meadows at 8,600 feet. The challenge began in the driveway, where we had to eliminate the wasp nests that were hidden inside the door jambs and behind the rear view mirror. Apparently the tiny interior space by the hinge, and another by the sliding door are ideal for raising little wasp children. The best spot was behind the outdoor mirror on the passenger side--the mirror itself can move, but there is a nice dark protected space in the housing that is perfect for layering wasp cells. I was very brave in poking them out. But, excuse me, how weird is that??

But I digress. This image of the river is exactly why we return to this campground every year in the fall. It is a sacred place to me, where I hope to soak up enough of whatever is there to last me til another September. I do get sick every time from the altitude change, and it is not a deterrent. Hearing the clear water rush over the granite, sensing the upward surge of the tall trees, smelling the hot pine needles in the sun--it is magical and healing and I feel a great peace here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.