Plus ça change...

By SooB

Piste off too

Grass. I ask you.

Yesterday I was struggling for what could be more depressing than a ski resort in the rain. Today I found it. A ski resort with almost no snow. It was so warm today that no-one much bothered with a coat. I think it got up to about 12 degrees celsius.

Most resorts try making snow when this happens, but not here. Or maybe it was too warm. Anyway, with only a couple of runs open, skiing was a bit lame. Back to the fun zone of fun and joy for us.

At least I'm reading a fab book. Well, a scary book really. It's The Omnivore's Dilemma by Michael Pollan. It's a history of four meals he has: one industrial produced fast food meal, an 'industrial organic' meal (ie Wholefoods), a local sustainable farm meal and a hunted/foraged meal.

The industrial one is the scary one. I had no idea really about how beef is produced in the US, and how everything has some kind of corn product in it. That first part should be compulsory reading for every high school child, and for everyone in Government.

It also has a lot to say about whether organic really is better (yes and no). So I'm going to end up being a real pest to all my local food producers asking all sorts of nosey questions. I think it'll make me a bit more discriminating than just 'organic please' as well.

So much food for thought, if you see what I mean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.