Hong Kong

I'll start with a cheesy postcard-like photo from my hotel window view over Victoria harbor facing Kowloon.

Exactly 3 years ago I arrived to NYC hotel, also on the 22nd floor, with the similar view over Midtown East and East River facing Brooklyn. Over there I switched off the lights, opened a bottle of Brooklyn beer, put on Louis Armstrong music, gazed over Manhattan through the window and felt like the whole world was mine.

Over here I would need a glass of rice wine and Cantonese opera.

First impression - the heat and humidity is driving me mad. But I will get used to it. It's weird accepting a totally unknown city as your home town. But I know the crisis won't kick in for a while. So far, Hong Kong is just a holiday destination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.