On High

Today would make, should the story be fully told, the most tender, poignant chapter of this academic year. Suffice to say, a Secret Santa gift I gave at Christmas to one of my seniors in our music class, was today, in their penultimate lesson and final music performance, returned to me a hundred fold in the sweetest gesture etched forever in the technicolour treasure trove that is my memory.  Reduced me to tears and the whole class to a group hug. 

Fortunately, there was insufficient time to truly wallow in my emotions as by 17.40 I was sitting on a mini bus, having been home, fed the cats, cleaned and spruced myself up, in order to go with colleagues for the annual 'getting to know you' with the school's Board of Trustees - an event which unlike previous years, was a posh cocktails and dinner do in "Sunset" restaurant, Ulus (do click on the link here for a moment of 'How the other half...') - with its commanding view from the terrace.  Istanbul from on high.  Very appropriate as I'm emotionally, pretty well up there in the clouds myself. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.