Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Lay down again

So, once again it was time for the annual relay. I've been dreading it for a month. Partly because it is horrible - it hurts! - but more because I might go through all the horribleness and have a slower time. Which would mean that I was getting old.

I was the first leg which meant that I would get caught up in the frenzy and be tricked into running too fast. This did work and I set off with some of the people from the athletic clubs in their running vests and stuff. For the first part I was running under 5 minutes a mile. Hit the halfway point at 3:00 dead and then just tried to not slow down too much. Came in at 6:13 after another vest came past to leave me in 5th place at the end of the leg.
Which is a result! 5 secs off the record time of 10 years ago. So I am still young.

But being young seemed to be more painful than it used to be

Still coughing 7 hours later.

C managed her fastest time ever. So she is not only not getting older, she is getting younger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.