Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Humph

Nightmare.

I came off my bike on the way home from work today. In top gear, downhill, I simply tried to dodge a stone (to avoid a snake bite puncture), but ended up losing it and dropping off the (tarmac) road and into the gravel. No cars about. Couldn't apply the brakes in fear of skidding..... so I tumbled over into some (long, long) grass. No damage done thanks to the helmet and rucksack (and the long, long grass), but I did get stung like f*ck thanks to the nettles. Once up, I managed to carry on for a bit only to find my front tyre starting to go down. Humph!
Tried in vain get the replacement inner-tube going, but it wouldn't inflate. Humph. However, a massive herd of cows found it highly fascinating watching me trying to fix my tube..... after all they did walk the entire distance of the field to get a closer look. Crazy animals. 

A quick phone call to Mrs Tuttle who came out to meet me at the local Sainsbury's carpark. Not so humph for me but humph for her! Rush hour time. However, prior to meeting her, a chap in a Land Rover offered to drop me off there which saved me from walking a mile or so in my cycling shoes. Aces.

Got home in one piece in the end, nice hot shower, hot cuppa coffee and hot tingling legs from the nettle stings.

I did not sleep well.

Humph

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.