Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Votes for women!

The nights are really drawing in now, and I took this photo at dusk, 5 minutes later it was dark.

This place is rather central, but also rather tucked away, I wonder how many people know of its existence?

It's now the local document archive, but it used to be (part of) the barracks at Tilburg. Tomorrow it will be used as a polling station for the national elections.

You can just see b&w photographs of women hanging on the windows. The photos here date from the turn of the last century, long before they were permitted to vote. This is part of the local Incubate art exhibition. the theme is 'Mothers'. Last year, working pianos were to be found dotted around the city. Great fun.

I wonder what these mothers would think of the current candidates? Will Wilders be popular? I sincerely hope not.

Oh, and btw, as a foreigner, I'm not allowed to vote.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.