Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

In the pink

The last guests left on Sunday afternoon, Monday I went to the bank, the next guests were due to arrive on Tuesday. Their flight was going to touch down after the last ferry had left so they had booked a night on Skiathos. Then we were told about the ferry strike which would stop all sailings until Thursday. The guests were considering a water taxi but the weather forecast was suggesting that may not be a possibility. So, no idea really when they might arrive, time to get on with some housework.

Not every time, but on occasion I might add a bit of bleach into my bucket of bathroom floorwash water. The floor is lumpy bumpy natural pebbles, not necessarily as hygienic as an operating theatre and so a spot of bleach is just to ensure I haven't got anything nasty festering in a nook. I sploshed it about and then began to notice some pink marks. Oh Heavens! What on earth has happened here? So I began to tip neat bleach onto the marks and WHOOMPH! A magenta floor! Oh Feck!

If you start typing into Google “What turns pink with” Google will offer you the final word “bleach” before you have even typed letter “b” And the unanimous answer is the contents of this little bottle. Ha ha! And we all thought β-Carotene was the enemy! How wrong we were! I have contacted the manufacturer and received a very nice automated response explaining that they are experiencing very high levels of email activity, that somebody will get back to me in five working days. They have given me their telephone number in case it is urgent. I am impressed. The floor has dried and it is not quite as noticeable as it was so I won't hassle them by phone. Meanwhile P20 is banned from our cottage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.