Out all day...

...came back drop dead exhausted.

In bed now anyway, but nursing a sore arm.

Came home. Got in. Put kettle on. Both Popeye and Lynx wanted my attention simultaneously. So stroked Popeye first with right hand, my left hand was slower in reaching Lynx, so Lynx said something. Whereupon Popeye swiped Lynx. And Lynx said a very bad cat word.

I went to console Lynx, but she used the naughty word again accompanied with two sets of claws in my left arm. Dripping blood I go to console myself and dress my arm. Both cats are yelled out of the house by me at this point. Suki, the white cat, stayed firmly and safely in her cat basket watching the entire proceedings.

With this new mapping on my processor I don't pick up the 'word' meow from the cats any more (or at least my understanding of the word meow). It sounds like Popeye says "Waah waah waah" when he talks to me. This top drawing is what it looks like in my mind.

Lynx normally says "eoou" just once with this new mapping on my processor. But her explosive word just now implanted a new image of her voice in my mind. So the bottom pic is is Lynx's explosive word.

These are my perceptions of the cats voices with my new mapping.

So, this is my pic a day for today, which is my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

[This is my artist's perception of sounds as they are now after being drastically changed after the remapping of my cochlear processor. I am readjusting to the different sounds, which are actually vastly different, as it is now suggested I was never mapped properly in the first place which is why I have struggled the last few years.]

It was a long day. Met a female friend in a cafe. But with this new mapping the noise in the cafe was overpowering, and I couldn't make out her voice. So we moved outside, but a man with an overpowering voice sat near us and all I could hear was his voice and I could pick up a little of what he said. But I couldn't even lipread or hear my friend. My brain was totally engrossed in figuring out the man's voice. And I am trying to figure out what my friend is saying.

Eventually we left the table and talked elsewhere which was a bit better. Am so tired. Quite a way to drive home.

Then this episode with Lynx and Popeye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.