MEMORIAL PLAQUE - ALAN HULL

Went to Newcastle today and met Neil for a late lunch. I caught the bus -- Neil walked. We went to Frankie and Benny''s. Neil had chicken with bacon & cheese with chips. I had baked salmon with a pesto and citrus crust with chips. Very nice.

After the meal we decided to take a look at this memorial plaque at The City Hall. It is dedicated to Alan Hull a founding member of the local band Lindisfarne. They were around between 1968 - 1975 and had hits with Fog on the Tyne and Lady Eleanor amongst others.

They performed at The City Hall every Christmas and these concerts became famous. I went to quite a few of them. There were so many encores that I always missed the last bus home and had to walk across town to the Central Station to get a taxi. You asked around to see if anyone was going in your direction and ended up sharing a taxi with complete strangers - all excited about the concert. The happy days of my youth.

Alan Hull died in 1995 aged 50 and this blue plaque was unveiled on 19th July 2012.

Postscript - Tigerlily is a great one for climbing high - on top of wardrobes and bookshelves etc and just yesterday I caught her balancing on the bannister on the landing. I was terrified for her but afraid to grab her in case she darted away and fell off. She jumped down safely and I hoped it was a one off. However this evening when I was in the lounge I heard a crash - yes you guessed it - she had fallen down the stairwell. Neil estimates its about a 12 foot drop. She ran into the lounge and looked shocked. Obviously had a fright. Poor little kitty. She is asleep now but I'm keeping an eye on her and will see if she is OK tomorrow. Hope she will learn her lesson. Maybe one of her 9 lives gone --- and a few more grey hairs for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.