In My World

By JoanneInOz

Remembering...

This morning I spent some time doing something that I rarely do these days, I went out into the garden and pulled out some weeds. 

Everything about the garden reminded me of a previous lifetime - the smell of the weeds leaving the earth, gritty black dirt under my fingernails, sweating during winter, forgetting the time...and as my mind wandered I remembered the times when I used to take photos every day, choose my favourite photo to publish on blip and catch up with other photography fanatics around the world.

For over a year now my days have been filled with study and university assignments and I keep on telling myself that one day I will start taking photos again, one day I will add a photo to blip every day like I used to...

Meanwhile, my beautiful, bouncy Labrador, Bronte, is growing and changing and I haven't taken anywhere near as many photos of her as I had planned on doing...

And then there's this little man, featured in my blip today. My grandson, Braxton, turns one year old in just over six weeks - where have the days, weeks and months gone? Brax loves spending time outdoors, adores our pets, is fascinated by the birds (yes, I do still feed the birds who visit my garden every day) and he is growing as fast as a little weed himself!

But for now, reminiscing time is over and it's time to get back to the books. But first I will feed the kookaburras who have just arrived in my garden...but I will try to lift my head from the desk, even if it's only occasionally, and take a few more photos before I miss out on too much of my world. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.