Nanou in Anjou

By nanou

   Yesterday I drove down to the south of my departement in order to fetch this beautiful breeder for my new hen house. It doesn't show on the photo but it's a heavy beast, 5 kgs approx.  Unfortunately, it's been  unbearably hot for a few hours while I was driving back and when I reached home, the poor guy was unable to stand on its feet, even more unable to quench its thirst. I had to water it through a pipette, hoping not to make it suffocate but eventually it didn't survive. What a pity, what an awful waste!! It was two years old and the father of numerous descendants. Had I known that I would've left him live peacefully at its farmer's place!

Edit: it's an ancient breed, quite rare which only 7 or 8 breeders in France are trying to preserve (poules de La Flèche).
Makes the waste even more huge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.