Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

White Flowers

This morning I took my husband to the surgery to have his yearly review of his medicines, the appointment itself did not take long, but getting from the car into the surgery and back out again was slow going with him not yet able to bear weight on his left leg.
 
Today at noon, was the deadline for my students to submit their final piece of work, so officially I am now unemployed until, or if, I get a group in September. In the past I have exam script marked, but was not selected this year. That is perhaps just as well as I have a lot of appointments at Addenbrookes this year as well as some days with our daughter and granddaughter.
 
After lunch I decided that I needed to cut back some shrubs, which block the view from the kitchen, down the right-hand side of the orchard, to the still dry pond. Last year Victoria cut them back while I cleared the branches; she was so fast last year that she ended up helping me to clear up. I shall not have Victoria to help this year, as during the end of May half-term she will be researching and writing her final piece of work as she finishes college in June. She already has an apprenticeship in place, which starts in September. I worked for over an hour until my arms and back ached and I could not cut the branches any longer, so I cleared the cut branches away and came indoors. It will rain soon, but once it is dry enough I will finish the job.
   
While I was trimming the shrubs I noticed today’s blip. Between us last autumn, Victoria and I planted a lot of bulbs and this flower is the result of some of them. There are a lot of separate flowers on each spiky head and this is just one flower. There are a lot more flowers to come out on each head and I will probably blip it again, but decided that this one flower must be recorded, just in case the deer get to the rest of the buds before they bloom. I cannot remember what it is called, although I remember planting a few bulbs in this part of the border; I thought there were some blue and some pink ones, clearly these are white!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.