Dad and Mom and Still Thirteen

10 days ago, I shot this family of gooses(?) in basically the same location. How do I know it's the same family? If you look closely, there is a marking on the largest gosling's wing.

I didn't want to tell the story (fearing that it would come off as grandiose), but 10 days ago I entered the water with the purpose of tagging one of the goslings...tagging it to track the family.

1st question. How did I catch it? I know that the little ones are fast, but I swim like former Olympic champion Johnny Weissmuller (Tarzan). I swim with the grace of Esther Williams. I just jumped in, and...quite simply...swam it down.

2nd question. How did I succeed in tagging it? Both Dad and Mom attacked me with their beaks and wings...just thrashing me. But, I am determined. Determined like Sylvester Stallone in a Rocky fight. Determined like Wily Coyote going after the Roadrunner. I dealt with the pain...(perhaps with no brain?) The tag was attached.

On second thought...don't look TOO closely for the tag. The story MAY not be true.

What IS true...is that the babies are growing, and the parents are doing a great job of keeping them safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.