A garden filled with alliums

I do love alliums and I'm sure over the years I can add a few more to this collection.  I went out to photograph water droplets suspended under the narrow leaves of newly emerging plants, but I couldn't get close enough without constructing a platform to stand on, so I settled for the alliums instead.  They have been stunning this year.  And at least I chose a relatively dry time of the morning.  

It finally looks as though it's getting brighter.  Our front garden is looking a bit like the tropics at the moment (well minus the warmth), we'll soon not be able to get down the paths.

Also some holiday pre-planning this morning which turned out to have its own frustrations.  I've been trying to locate a 1:50000 map of the place we're going to visit in Umbria and spent a goodly hour trying to cross reference with the Google map, which is not quite detailed enough at a very local level.  I'm not sure I've managed it as I suspect our hotel is slightly to the west of the map sheet I chose - Stanford's didn't have the adjoining sheet so I'm not sure whether one exists or not - the German map-makers might only have covered areas that they think people will walk in.  Time will tell  - I sent for it anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.