Poppy Line

Whilst nipping out to my nearest large supermarket in Sheringham, I thought I'd quickly cross over the road to take a photo with my compact camera of the steam train on the Poppy Line which was changing ends. There's not many places you can see a steam train when you pop to Tesco!!!  

This morning I went to my first monthly U3A talk at the Archaeology Group in Blakeney. This is the largest group in the area with around 70 members. Today's excellent talk on Roman coin hordes was by Roger Bland who used to work at the British Museum, who's retired to Norfolk and who's writing a book on the subject. Unbelievably there were 1100 cases reported of treasure in the UK in 2016. Evidently the largest number of finds are from Norfolk. He told us about one case (not local) where a detectorist found a pot, called it in and the archaeologists found 52,500 coins in it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.