Like a duck....

I couldn't settle today - up early to get started in re-writing (personalising ) my first aid presentations I knew my monkey brain wasn't focused.
I'm usually pretty productive - and I think that that comes from being self aware - so I'd given up before 10am and headed out to the Tarn for a wander with pooch in the forecast to disappear bright sun. Switching off and letting the subconscious process, prioritise and plan usually works for me, but I could tell I'm a little daunted at the task ahead. I need presentations to be mine , true and worthwhile - but obviously I'm also bound by a syllabus.
I spent a while marvelling at mum mallard and her 14 chicks - but this was the best of my shots.

Returning home I had a head full of ideas but no real desire to get going - so I decided to do a little bit of homework and go scope out a potential venue and add some context to concept. My extra is a selfie for several geeky reasons that I wanted to record. Injury has kept me off a rope for far too long - and any climber knows that has a psychological impact. So some rigging practice and system trust - the left pic shows a fairly high end self belay rope ascent technique with three levels of redundancy (for any uber geeks I'll shortly be replacing the gri-gri with a Rig), & the right hand pic was me practicing crag rescue for an unconscious casualty. I thought of using pooch but oddly she wasn't keen!

This evening I've come back and gotten the first 2of 32modules done, format and template set. Good progress from a refreshed head. Though I do notice it's now Shiraz o'clock.

Philosophy Friday
There's no such thing as quitting.
Just sometimes there's a longer pause between tries.
Alan Moore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.