Steve Dillamore

By Steve_Dillamore

I hate computers....

Phone call from my mother this evening with a problem​ with her PC. For some reason certain websites including supermarkets and banks wouldn't show but Google and BBC were fine.

I hate calls like this. She is 180 miles away so I can't just pop in. Fortunately I have installed software on her machine that allows me remote control access. When I logged in she was correct - this picture shows the frustrating message I encountered.

Obviously she had internet access - I had logged in remotely so connection wasn't the issue.

It took me a couple of hours of fiddling (flushing DNS, clearing the cache, checking firewalls etc. etc)

In the end it was working the next morning but I still don't know if I fixed it or the ISP were having an issue.

I'm really hoping it doesn't go wrong again in the near future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.